interviste

“Shall we dance?”(Interview with AdeY)

img878

AdeY’s work captures those little moments of social oppression, humour, isolation, anxiety and depression. It recognises that we not only change in relationship to our environment but that our environment adapts to what we become. The images depict imbalances evident in contemporary society today by directly addressing issues of gender, normative behaviour and how society forces us to choose one direction or path. The subjects show our venerability, loneliness, strengths and expectations whilst highlighting the correlation between body and space.

img848-Edit

1) Your shots could be defined “choreographed pictures”: how did the idea of merging dance with photography started?

I have been working professionally in the field of contemporary dance for a number of years as both choreographer and dancer. My voice as photographer has been continually developing and naturally merged into this choreographed style of creating. I always feel like I’m choreographing a short scene before taking the picture even if its a static pose.

CF059270

2) The setting in your work appears to be very meagre, abandoned places, like old construction sites or abandoned factories are often preferred. Why this choice?

There are a number of reasons but sometimes the space is out of necessity for privacy due to the models request or laws in certain countries. I’m attracted to abandoned spaces however as the contrast to the human body fascinates me. These forgotten places leave space for interpretation so that the viewer can build upon my initial concept.

img593-Edit

3) We are normally used to a static image, in plastic poses, this does not happen in your photographs. As in dance, the study of the choreography comes first then the show on stage: do you always manage to get the expected result?

The short answer is no but generally I’m pleasantly surprised by the results I get after developing the negatives. I converse a lot with my models and actually only get through around 3-4 rolls per shoot. By taking my time I normally feel fairly confident that I got what I set out to achieve and sometimes a lot more.

4) Your models are immortalized without clothes on, even thou there is nothing new with nudity in photography. I rather notice how much you have tried to “knock down” the difference between gender, by concealing the sexual organs: : If I’m not mistaken is there an attempt of yours to achieve parity, albeit imaginative, between man and woman?

For sure ideas surrounding gender neutrality are strong within my work. I want to bring to light discussions around gender roles and the relevance this has in societies all around the globe. Through using ideas of gender neutrality and breaking down typical roles with my images I hope to encourage open debate and discussions around these topics

img752-Edit-1

5) Which is the picture that you feel the most connected and for which reason?

Thats really difficult to answer…I think it changes all the time as my art develops and takes on different forms. If I had to pick a recent image then it would probably be ‘Oh Christ’. With this image I wanted to talk about innocence, religion and social pressures.

Ps: thanks to my lovely Riccardo
Standard

Rispondi

